← Design notebook

BUILT BY AUTONOMOUS SYSTEMS · WORK IN PROGRESS

LiFePO4 (LFP) batteries for gyropup

Prices were checked on 2026-10-25. Every pack, BMS and charger named here is in catalog/lfp_batteries.json (historical file), with its sources and confidence. "Not published" means exactly that. Computed packs (ids custom-8s…) are labelled estimate: mass = cells × 1.15.

Target: 8S LFP: 25.6 V nominal (26.4 V with A123-type 3.3 V cells), 28.8–29.2 V full, ~20 V at cut-off. That sits inside the J501's 12–36 V range with 7 V of headroom; 10S (36.5 V full) would not.

Requirements: ≥ 250 Wh, ≥ 60 A continuous, short peaks of 60–150 A, as light as possible.

Baseline to beat: WREKD 7S2P Molicel P50B Li-ion: 1.05 kg, 252 Wh, 120 A, $294 (wrekd-nexus-7s2p-molicel-p50b-10000).

The short answer

Choice What Wh Cont. A Mass vs 7S Li-ion Price
Best ready-made 2× EarthX ETX36D in series 327 100 (EarthX series rating) 3.60 kg +2.55 kg (3.4×) $738
Best custom 8S4P Lithium Werks/A123 ANR26650M1-B + 100–200 A BMS 264 208 (cells) → BMS limit ~2.80 kg est. +1.75 kg (2.7×) cells ~€254 ex VAT (NKON) + BMS $65–£90
Lighter custom, less margin 8S2P Vapcell G65 IFR32700 333 60 (110 A 5 s) ~2.71 kg est. +1.66 kg cell price not verified

LFP stores roughly 100–145 Wh/kg at cell level, against about 240 Wh/kg for the P50B pack. Every LFP option that meets 250 Wh is 2.6–3.4× heavier than the current Li-ion pack. On a 14 kg robot that is 12–18 % of the total mass. The leg actuators and the balance controller must carry it, and it should sit low in the body.


1. Ready-made 8S (or 2 × 4S) LFP packs

Pack V nom / full / cut-off Ah Wh Cont. A Peak A BMS Mass Size (mm) Connector Price, seller, stock
2× EarthX ETX36D (series) 26.4 / 28.8 / 23.0¹ 12.4 327 100² 680 (PCA) 1 per battery; no comms; low-temp charge cut-off not published 3600 2 × 175×86×155 terminal adapters, M6 $738 (2 × $369), EarthX, stock not shown
2× EarthX ETX18F (series) 26.4 / 28.8 / 23.0¹ 6.2 164 60² 340 (PCA) as above 2000 2 × 150×86×93 as above $458 (2 × $229), EarthX
EarthX ETX400-24-VNT (one 24 V box) 26.4 / n.p. / n.p. 7.8 206 n.p. 400 (PCA) redundant BMS, balancing, fault LED extra 2400 166×76×168 M6 screws $779, Aircraft Spruce
BatterySpace 25.6 V 9.9 Ah, 40 A 25.6 / 28.8 / 20.0 9.9 253 40 (PCM trips) n.p. PCM, OVP 31.2 V, UVP 16 V; no comms 2510 165×112×96 12 AWG open leads $347.88, BatterySpace, build to order
BatterySpace 25.6 V 13.2 Ah, 40 A (8S4P) 25.6 / 28.8 / 20.0 13.2 338 40 n.p. 40 A PCM 3260 266×108×79 45 A Anderson $405.95, BatterySpace, build to order
Battle Born BB5024 25.6 / n.p. / n.p. 50 1280 n.p. n.p. yes 14061 324×174×227 posts $879, Battle Born, in stock
Bioenno BLF-2410AS (already in catalog) 25.6 / 29.2 / – 10 256 10 20 PCM 2600 182×77×171 screw terminals $189.99, sold out

n.p. = not published. PCA = EarthX peak cranking amps (a few seconds). ¹ EarthX AN-1609 calls a battery below 11.5 V (2.8 V/cell) over-discharged; the BMS cut-off point is not published. ² Continuous rating from EarthX application note AN-1609, Table 1, for the series pair.

Series use of 12 V starter batteries. The note said to check this before using two 4S batteries in series.

Other ready-made options, rejected:

Only the EarthX ETX36D pair meets both ≥ 250 Wh and ≥ 60 A off the shelf.


2. High-rate LFP cells

Cell V nom / max / cut-off Ah Cont. A Pulse A Mass g Size mm Price Notes, source
Lithium Werks (ex-A123) ANR26650M1-B 3.3 / 3.6 / 2.0 2.6 typ, 2.5 min 52 (20C) 120 (10 s) 76.0 26 × 65.4 ~€7.95 ex VAT (1 pc), €6.55 at 400³ charge −25…60 °C (< 250 mA below 0 °C); 26 A max charge. Lithium Werks; the 2011 A123 sheet says 70 A continuous
Vapcell T25 IFR26650 3.2 / 3.6 / n.p. 2.5 (2.4 min) 60 100 "under 80 °C" n.p. (92 g shipping weight) 26.2 × 65.2 $4.99, Liion Wholesale, in stock re-wrapped cell, maker not disclosed. listing
Vapcell G65 IFR32700 3.2 / 3.65 / 2.0 6.5 (6.4 min) 30 55 (5 s) 147.4 measured 32.4 × 70.3 no current price found (G64 ~€9.29 on eBay.de³) HKJ measured 6.61 Ah at 5 A, no loss at 30 A. lygte-info
LiitoKala Lii-70A 32700 3.2 / 3.65 / 2.5 "7.0" "30" n.p. 145 32 × 70 286 UAH (vencon.ua) seller claim only. Similar "7000 mAh" 32700s test at ~6.0–6.3 Ah (BLF, lygte-info VBatty)
Generic 32700 6 Ah "3C" 3.2 / 3.65 / 2.0 6.0 18 (3C) – ~145 32.4 × 70.1 $4.99, Rotor Village too low-rate: 8S2P gives only 36 A
Headway HW-38120HP 3.2 / 3.65 / 2.5 (2.0 on short sheet) 8.0 (7.5 min) 120 (15C) 240 (30C, 30 s) 330 38.5 × 136 $14.99, Liion Wholesale, in stock (118) 0.1C charge below 0 °C; screw terminals. spec, short sheet, buy
Headway 38120S 10 Ah 3.2 / 3.65 / 2.0 10 30 (3C) 10C pulse per sellers ~330 38 × 120 $13.59, Liion Wholesale, out of stock too low-rate for 60 A in 8S1P. Tell-way sheet
Murata US26650FTC1A 3.2 / – / – 3.0 25 (distributor) – 83.3 (Batemo) 26.1 × 64.8 not found no maker datasheet found; heavier per Wh than A123

³ From search-result snippets of NKON / eBay.de. The pages are behind bot walls and were not opened.

A123 availability and fakes (2026).

Computed 8S packs (estimates; catalog ids custom-8s…)

Mass = cells × 1.15 (estimate; the BMS adds 50–200 g on top). Dims = bare cell block.

Pack Cells Ah Wh Cont. A (cells) Peak A Cell mass Pack mass est. Cell cost Meets ≥ 250 Wh / ≥ 60 A?
8S3P A123 ANR26650M1-B 24 7.5 198 156 360 (10 s) 1824 g 2098 g ~€191 ex VAT no (Wh)
8S4P A123 ANR26650M1-B 32 10.0 264 208 480 (10 s) 2432 g 2797 g ~€254 ex VAT yes, large current margin
8S4P Vapcell T25 32 10.0 256 240 400 2944 g⁴ 3386 g⁴ $159.68 yes
8S2P Vapcell G65 32700 16 13.0 333 60 110 (5 s) 2358 g 2712 g n.p. yes, but 60 A is the limit and 150 A peaks exceed the pulse rating
8S1P Headway 38120HP 8 8.0 205 120 240 (30 s) 2640 g 3036 g $119.92 no (Wh)
8S2P Headway 38120HP (not in catalog) 16 16.0 410 240 480 5280 g 6072 g $239.84 yes, but 6 kg

⁴ Uses the store's 92 g shipping weight per cell; the true cell mass is not published.


3. BMS for 8S LFP, 60–150 A

BMS Cells Cont. / peak A Balance Comms Low-temp charge cut-off Price, stock
Battery Hookup 100 A LFP, CAN variant 7–17S LFP 100 / 200 (10 s); 60 A charge 60 mA passive CAN, RS485, UART; BT module optional 0 °C $65, in stock, ships from PA (listing)
JK-B2A8S20P 4–8S 200 / 350 2 A active Bluetooth only (the -HC variant adds CAN) not stated £94.99 at Fogstar, out of stock; no US seller in stock (Fogstar)
JK-B2A8S30P 4–8S 300 / – 2 A active Bluetooth only not stated £89.99 at Fogstar, in stock (57) (Fogstar)
Daly M-series smart 3–24S 150 or 200 (continuous vs peak not stated) n.p. CAN, RS485, dual UART, app n.p. no price on dalybms.com; marketplace listings ran ~$9–$202 depending on options (unverified)
ANT smart 8–22S (not in catalog) 8–22S 40–230 A options – Bluetooth – only eBay listings found (an 8–20S 230 A unit sold for $75.16, ended Aug 2025)
JBD 24 V/100 A 8S, Overkill Solar's base (not in catalog) 8S 100 ~50 mA passive BT, USB – Current Connected says it is discontinued. No 8S unit is listed on Overkill Solar now

For the robot, CAN plus a 0 °C charge block matter more than 300 A.


4. Chargers for 8S LFP (28.8–29.2 V)

Charger 8S LiFe? Current Input Balance Price, stock Catalog id
Junsi iCharger X8 yes, 1–8S 30 A, 1100 W DC only 2 A $129.99, ProgressiveRC / BuddyRC, in stock junsi-icharger-x8 (new)
ToolkitRC M8AC yes, 1–8S 20 A (DC 600 W); AC 200 W ≈ 6.8 A at 29 V AC or 7–35 V DC 1 A $121.99, Pyrodrone, in stock toolkitrc-m8ac (new)
Victron Blue Smart IP65 24/5 whole-pack LiFePO4 mode 5 A (2 A low mode) 120 VAC none (relies on the BMS) $117.30, The Solar Store, in stock victron-blue-smart-ip65-24-5 (new)
ISDT K4 yes, 1–8S 20 A, AC 400 W / DC 1200 W AC or DC – $229.99 isdt-k4-dual-charger (existing)
ISDT Q8 Max yes, 1–8S 30 A, 1000 W DC only – $88.99 isdt-q8-max (existing)
Junsi iCharger X12 yes, 1–12S 30 A, 1100 W DC only 2 A $179.99 junsi-icharger-x12 (existing)
Bioenno BPC-2410A 29.2 V fixed 10 A AC none $99.99 bioenno-bpc-2410-charger (existing)
ToolkitRC M6DAC Pro, ISDT K2 Air, Ovonic Mate2 no, 6S max – – – – existing
ToolkitRC M8S (400 W, 18 A, 1–8S LiFe) yes, per search snippet 18 A DC – $49.99 pre-order at RaceDayQuads (page not opened) not in catalog

5. Recommendation

Every LFP option makes the robot about 1.7–2.6 kg heavier for the same energy. Keep the Li-ion pack unless charging safety outweighs about 12–18 % more robot mass.

6. Design notes for an LFP gyropup

Sources

Every row above links its source inline. The main documents: